SUNDAY JULY 12
2pm PDT / 4pm CDT / 5pm EDT / 10pm BST / 5am (Mon) JST

Dracula! Frankenstein’s Monster! The Wolfman! These are not the monsters you think about when someone mentions Japan’s Toho Studios. But between 1965 and 1974 Toho produced six films featuring these iconic movie monsters: Frankenstein Conquers the World (65), War of the Gargantuas (66), Horror of the Wolf (73), and the notorious Bloodthirsty Trilogy (1970-74). Join religion and cultural studies scholar Justin Mullis to discuss these long neglected and overlooked horror movies from Toho’s golden age and how exactly one goes about turning a classic western movie monster into a Japanese one!

YOUTUBE LINK

Event Timeslots (1)

SUNDAY
-
Justin Mullis